Black People Originate Memorial Day

Or as The Grio puts it:

The African-American Roots and Civil War Origins of Memorial Day.

Civil_War_Soldier

Just passing along the info because I know my Intersect Tesseracts would Want To Know The True Skinny.

I never knew the full info so it was nice to see how detailed that article is. I hope everyone had a safe and good Memorial Day.

I pray for those that have fallen, and I pray as I do every day that we will eventually have a world where we can solve our problems and find solutions without war.

I would much rather spend a day celebrating the accomplishments of living breathing human beings than decorating graves.

Among the full brigade of Union infantry participating was the famous 54th Massachusetts and the 34th and 104th U.S. Colored Troops, who performed a special double-columned march around the gravesite. The war was over, and Decoration Day had been founded by African Americans in a ritual of remembrance and consecration. The war, they had boldly announced, had been all about the triumph of their emancipation over a slaveholders’ republic, and not about state rights, defense of home, nor merely soldiers’ valor and sacrifice. …(more)

About Awake BW

Like my writing? Support & Donations accepted: paypal.me/AwakeBW Black Celibate Buddhist Nun Insomniac Wordsmith Womanist Our Lady Of The Two Black Cats Educated Bodhisattva This Week in Blackness Podcast FOREVER! #TWiBNation
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Go Ahead, Have Your Say!

