VRA: Fighting Back

Amazon Warrior

You can CLICK HERE and sign the ACLU petition to congress urging them to repair the Voting Rights Act. I dunno if that is a real and possible thing, but sign the effing thing and we’ll see what’s what.

If my tone of voice today is a big pissy, it is because I am completely unable to can. Basically: iCan’t. That and I just returned from my bi-monthly head shrinkage with the Doc who manages my meds and I’m as gutted as the VRA. Twinsies, yay.

While I was doing my in-depth brain cleansing I had a few ideas on how to fight back. Signing petitions can do much, but in case the ish don’t work out, let us try a few other things.

I want to connect with activists. The people on the front lines who worked their asses off to get African-Americans to the polls in record numbers clocked in during the last general election.

I have an idea where to start, but if anyone reading this know anyone who knows anyone else, please leave info via comments anywhere on this blog. I’m going to figure out a contact page in a lil bit, so look out for that, but in the meantime comments or @AwakeBlackWoman via twitter is your place to get in touch.

~*~

Michonne Katana

My Bright Ideas For Kicking Ass Despite How Things Are

1. Every single voting age Black person needs to get registered to vote like right exactly now. There may be hoops to jump through, but if you start now, you’ll be set for the 2014 midterm elections.

2. Every single voting age Black person should find out if they can vote by mail in their state. If you can: SIGN UP FOR THAT ISH RIGHT NOW. That is how I vote. I don’t have to show ID, I don’t have to do anything, but fill out the ballot that gets sent to me, and send it back. No muss, no fuss, and if they ixnay things like early voting, souls to the polls etc it won’t matter a lick.

3. Every single voting age Black person should find out if they qualify to vote on an absentee ballot. If you are transient, living overseas, in the military overseas, if you don’t have an actual home address, if you move around a lot, homeless etc this may be the way for you to go. I dunno. Find out if you qualify in your state and SIGN UP FOR IT NOW if you do.

Those are the ideas I came up with. They are things that are not easy to do. I don’t remember what all I had to do in order to get on the mail-in ballot list – symptom of my broken brain – but I managed to do it, and so can you.

The idea is to get ahead of the sanctions that WILL be coming down because of the SCOTUS decision on the VRA. There is still enough time to get yourself squared away before mid-term elections. There are few things coming up this Summer in August, and early Fall in my state, and a few others, but if you start working on getting situated right now, you will be in time for those things too.

I know I’m doing this to try and stave off the despair that I feel. I know this is a personal thing for me. But if this is a valid way to go, a good way to fight back and ensure that we do not indeed become disenfranchised, then I say we should GO FOR IT.

~*~

Stuff to help you get started:

National Voter Registration Day. That’s September 24th, 2013. But for Buddha’s sake don’t wait until then. There is a register to vote link on that page too. I don’t give a hoot which party you sign up for. Just get REGISTERED.

Federal Voting Assistance Program. FAQs on voting help for uniformed service members, their families, and citizens living outside the U.S. Ditched outta dodge? Assigned overseas? You can still get registered to vote and vote from where ever you are on the planet.

Election Assistance Commission. Comprehensive information on voting. Like THIS pdf link that explains what voting by mail actually is, and certain qualifications in the first few paragraphs.

Long Distance Voter. A much better place to get state by state info on how you can vote by mail. Some states have a buncha qualifiers, others don’t. There is a list to scroll down, and links to click on your state to help you get started. DO IT!

In many cases Absentee/Vote by mail are the same thing. So know that, as you go on your search to get yourself sorted.

~*~

All of the above goes for any and all POC who are interested in keeping their right to vote. I live in a border red state, and because I’m Black, I’m not the targeted voter out here. I know my Latino, Chicano, Hispanic, Mexican-American WHATEVER they wanna call you sisters and brothers have tons of issues with disenfranchisement out here.

The things I have listed in this post will be of help to you too. And really, it won’t be long before EVERY voter, no matter what class, color or creed will be attacked.

The VRA was indeed there to help Black people gain equal access to the ballot, but as you should well know, any time rights are stripped away from one person, they can be stripped away from YOU.

_______________________________________________

PLEASE Help Me get in contact with the movers and shakers in Black and POC voting activism. I need to do this, and I need to know if my ideas are sound ones and can be worked into reality.
Even if you don’t know anyone, feedback on my ideas is greatly needed, appreciated and encouraged. Thank You :)
About Awake BW

Black Celibate Buddhist Nun Insomniac Wordsmith iDance Womanist Domme Dyed In The Wool Democrat iRead Incognegro Our Lady Of The Two Black Cats Educated Bodhisattva Silver Glitter Nailpolish Is My Crack Not on SlaveBook TWiB Addicted Ain't I A Woman.
This entry was posted in General, Hellz YES and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to VRA: Fighting Back

  1. Stephen Garramone says:

    Very good article. To wit, in Florida Governor Scott had stopped the early voting the Sunday before Election Day. This had been traditionally used as the “souls to polls” voting day as after the Sunday sermon, the congregation would go to the polls to early vote. Rather than whine and complain and take the hit, the churches did the “souls to polls” on the prior Sunday. Guess what? Obama still carried the state which would not have happened if African Americans did not adjust accordingly.

    Life is not fair. Adjustments are necessary. Jews in Germany who refused to leave (the ones that could have, that is) paid the price for rigidity.

    Likewise African-Americans must adjust. Register now, jump through the hoops, DO WHAT IS RIGHT! Rolling over and dying is NOT right.

    • Awake BW says:

      YES! Thank you for those reminders on how we adjusted and kept it stepping. I think that is the key thing. Not only for my personal restoration of balance, but as you said giving up is not an option. On one of my earlier posts to this blog soon after transferring to WP, I mentioned Waking The Sleeping Lion that was the Black voting block in the last general election.

      I guess what I want to see happen is the same sort of thing. People not giving up, not giving into the despair, and taking their own rights into their own hands and basically Doing Whatever It Takes in order to cast that vote.

      By Whatever Means Necessary.

  2. DesiBjorn says:

    Loved this! Especially the focus on what can be done to survive this attack and possibly challenge it.

    • Awake BW says:

      For real tho Desi, because all this madness is just another way that the PTB are trying to keep us down, keep us out of politics, and keep us powerless. I for one am not going to let them win. I want them to realize the more they strive to silence us, the more we are going to get LOUD and push back. Thanks for the reblog!

  3. DesiBjorn says:

    Reblogged this on The Angriest Black Man in America and commented:
    Loved this! Especially the focus on what can be done to survive this attack and possibly challenge it.

  4. This is a great post! BTW your ACLU petition link didn’t take me straight to the Petition. I had to dig a little, but I signed!

Go Ahead, Have Your Say!

