Simple Truths

If Jordan Davis had been alone in his car Michael Dunn would be facing no jail time right now.

That is what this verdict says. I guess he’d be sitting around waiting a new trial or waiting to see if his lawyers could make the whole thing just disappear. Those 60 years he might be facing right now are based on the other people (who are still alive) in that car.

Not a damn thing for the kid he actually killed. Not one damn thing. Not a minute, not a year, nothing at all.

It sends the message that killing another human being could let you walk.

White or Black – but especially Black, remember Marissa Alexander – you will do more time if you do not kill.

As some on my twitter feed have been saying: Looks like Dunn is being punished for NOT KILLING THOSE OTHER BLACK BOYS.

For those that still do not understand: When you are armed and the other person is not, there is nothing self defense about your situation. 

Open Season On Black Bodies? Yes. Nothing you can say will make me feel anything different. I have known this reality for decades. Brought into sharp focus in these past several years, completely crystal clear today right now.

~*~

Hear This:

On my twitter feed this guy was asking anyone if they’d ever thought to tell someone to turn down their music while in a parking lot.

Most said that it would  never occur to them. Some said they had, in different situations – ie children were near with profanity lyrics blasting and another stated they asked politely as it was late and right next to a retirement home.

I replied absolutely not. And especially out her in AZ where the “gun laws” are based on the shootout at the OK corral. And I’m not kidding. Google them for yourself and you’ll see exactly what I mean.

One of my Twitter Pals replied that since it was a temporary situation ie you or the loud music people could and would be driving away in the immediate future, there was simply no need to start drama in a public place.

That response made me start to cry.

Because if Dunn had simply grumbled to himself about “rap crap” or whatever, gone inside with his fiancee to get their purchases, came out, got in his car and driven away, Jordan Davis would still have his life.

It reminded me of a tweet I saw during the GZ trial and I’ll paraphrase: Wouldn’t it be wonderful to live in a world where George Zimmmerman offered Trayvon Martin a ride home out of the rain?

Wouldn’t it be wonderful to live in a world where Michael Dunn just shrugged and went on his merry way?

He, like GZ is a bully and a thug and felt the need – the privilege – to police his immediate environment, and when he didn’t like the response he got from starting unneeded drama, pulled out his gun and committed murder.

Simple Truth.

UPDATE: Michael Dunn  Sentenced to Life in Prison. Without possibility of parole.          First degree MURDER. For the killing of Jordan Davis. With 105 years tacked on for firing into an occupied vehicle. This was the result of the 2nd trial that had to be undertaken due to the results from the first, which I’ve just illustrated above.

If you clicked that link you can see a nice closeup of Dunn’s sad, sorry face all tearful and full of woe. No doubt he wants everyone to think it’s sorrow over his actions. But you and I both know it’s because he actually has to spend the rest of his life in prison. Among actual killers and thugs just like himself. No true remorse for snuffing out the life of a kid.

Justice was served in this case IMO. You take a life, you forfeit your own and spend it behind bars. He brought this all down upon himself. He could have driven to another store if the teen’s music was so offensive. Or ignored them, got his stuff and went on his way. But he didn’t. And now he has to face the consequences of his choices.

I hope he rots.

~*~

Of Interest: The skinny on the Stand Your Ground Laws.

They are NEW. Not even a decade in existence, the earliest laws were enacted in 2005-2007 during the Bush era. Most others 2010-2011 at height of Tea Party and that crucial Mid-Term election. Says a lot, doesn’t it?

This is not a “Florida Problem” as over half the states (26) have SYG laws. Does yours? Mine does.

It is hard enough to get fair treatment and justice under the laws of this country as a POC in general on any given day – worse still, and damn near impossible with SYG. This is done On Purpose.

They are nothing but Code Words, Jim Crow, Dog Whistles, Southern Strategy turned into the law of the land. Yet another facet of what is called: Legal Slavery.

I am sick unto DEATH of these WP putting themselves into unnecessary situations then crying “I feel threatened” and then kill my people and then run and hide behind Stand Your Ground laws. Sick of it. SICKENED by it. Tired of it.

iCan’t.

I simply Can. NOT.

______________________________________________

#NotTheAmericaIWantToLiveIn
That is all.
About Awake BW

Like my writing? Support & Donations accepted: paypal.me/AwakeBW Black Celibate Buddhist Nun Insomniac Wordsmith Womanist Our Lady Of The Two Black Cats Educated Bodhisattva This Week in Blackness Podcast FOREVER! #TWiBNation
This entry was posted in General, WELP, WTF and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Simple Truths

  1. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez says:

    I, like many others, are helpless to change this system.

    • Awake BW says:

      That’s the thing, I’m not sure we ARE helpless. Think about it. In 2004 there were no SYG laws. So who were the ones who put them into motion? I’m guessing certain of our elected officials – ones who can be voted out, and with some due diligence, can be replaced with those who would be amenable to repeal those laws.

      However, as you can tell, I’m a bit foggy on the process. But I do know one thing, our laws are not permanent things, and we as registered voters have the power to back those who can make those legislative changes, and oust those who want to keep these dangerous, racially biased laws on the books.

      I don’t have the wherewithal just now to figure out what it is exactly we as individual voters can do – I guess I have until midterms this Nov? – But when and if I do, you can be sure I’ll make a post about it. I might start with the Dream Defenders (http://dreamdefenders.org/portfolio/the-world-is-ours-political-action-and-civic-engagement/) and go from there.

      Do not give up hope, we can make some significant changes. The people who implemented these SYG laws state by state by state had a Plan and a Game Plan. We need to do the same to dismantle them.

      As for the systemic and endemic racism in America in general? Well yeah, I fully believe ish will not change until WP get fed up and just say enough is enough and put the full force of their might, money, privilege and power to use to End It.

      Not holding my breath tho ;)

      HUGGSS Jackie and Blessings to you and yours.

  2. annetbell says:

    Many thanks for your follow. I hope you will visit again soon and often. Happy week!

  3. Angela Corey is trying to appeal but quite frankly, I have little faith in that woman. Her fingerprints are all over the Zimmerman, Alexander, and Dunn cases, and she’s an ugly common denominator.

    #fuckangelacorey

    • Awake BW says:

      Oh indeed.
      Angela Corey is a poor excuse for a human being and her shenanigans have been responsible for so much injustice, pain and – well she is just a travesty.

  4. Eve says:

    Once again, you’re dead on. Killing all of them would have ensured that he walk away free. He screwed up when he left them alive. Logic? Justice? I have asked people to turn their music down (on the train) but it definitely wouldn’t have led to violence, not on my part, at least. He was hyped about the GZ case and was looking for trouble. He’s a coward. Notice how they never approach real thugs? Unassuming and vulnerable young Black men are their target. Oh yeah, I forgot we have to add Black women, too (Renisha McBride). Unreal!

    • Awake BW says:

      “Notice how they never approach real thugs?”

      You said a whole bunch right there, Eve. I notice these grown ass white men always targeting young kids. Just for once I’d like to read an article about one of these guys mixing it up with someone from the MS-13, the Crips, Bloods or a stone cold hermano from The 18th Street Gang.

      But no.
      Fucking cowards always targeting someone they know good and darn well is unarmed, young, and unaffiliated with gangs. Despite what they turn around and say on the witness stand after they’ve finished ending yet another promising young life.

      I am trying hard every day to make sure my next incarnation is a step up, not a step down, so I’ll say this to Michael Dunn instead of what I really want to say: I wish you luck in prison and I hope you get to have a nice long stint in GenPop that will provide you with a thorough education of real gangsters and thugs along with fellow murderers such as yourself.

  5. I have really enjoyed your frankness in your posts that I’ve read…I guess with increasing transparencies and freedom of speech (on blog at least), we are experiencing more awareness on all fronts – hopefully we will shape our world to be more tolerant and fair in judgement.

    • Awake BW says:

      Thanks so much. The one thing that I still have is Hope. That’s what keeps me going. And I too am grateful for having our blogs. We can speak our minds and spread knowledge, and keep the Light of Hope burning Strong.

Go Ahead, Have Your Say!

