Viola Davis is Beautiful

Classic African Beauty: ENJOY

~*~

Viola-Davis-Natural-Hair-In-Essence

~*~

Viola Davis

~*~

viola-davis-23rd-annual-producers-guild-awards-02

~*~

viola-davis-by-ruven-afanador-la-times-magazine-february-2012

~*~

viola_davis_portrait_a_p

~*~

viola-davis-curly-hg-lgn

~*~

Viola-Davis_Los-Angeles-Times

~*~

viola-davis-talks-motherhood__oPt

~*~

z Viola Davis

Gurl, BYE.

~*~

For those that don’t know, Executive Producer Shonda Rhimes of Grey’s Anatomy, Scandal and Private Practice fame has cast the amazing actor Viola Davis AS THE LEAD in her new show How To Get Away With Murder premiering on ABC this week.

Apparently that didn’t sit well with some folks. A Black woman at the top of her game, reaching out and elevating other Black women to career positions that they should have been offered DECADES ago, based on their chops and resume’s alone…

…but were somehow overlooked…..wonder WHY that is.

My Intersect Tesseracts who’ve read my Invisible Woman series of posts know what time it is though. GOOD. Love yall!

Recommended:

In Defense of Clair Huxtable & the Angry Black Woman In TV & Beyond by the fabulous Janet Mock.

Melissa Harris-Perry: If “angry white man” was a caricature.

________________________________________________________

I’m celebrating the BEAUTY that is Viola Davis because of a recent article in the NY Times that was HUGELY problematic that dissed Shonda Rhimes, Viola Davis and many other Black female actors, and Black women in general. Click the link under the final picture above for more info.
There is a REASON I have darker hued Black women scattered around my blog on the sidebar and also on my footer. Scroll around and down and revel in the BEAUTY that surrounds my words. It is ON PURPOSE.
To combat articles like that and other endemic societal entities and institutions that at best forget Black women exist and at worst disrespect us and promote stereotypes and spread disinformation and lies that do the most to uphold white supremacy.
Yeah I said it.
I speak Truth.

Viola, I love you! I wish you all the success with your new show. Thank you, Shonda!

About Awake BW

Black Celibate Buddhist Nun Insomniac Wordsmith iDance Womanist Domme iRead Incognegro Our Lady Of The Two Black Cats Educated Bodhisattva Silver Glitter Nailpolish Is My Crack TWiB Addicted Ain't I A Woman.
This entry was posted in General, Hellz YES, WELP and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Viola Davis is Beautiful

  1. Reblogged this on Black Women Stand Up and commented:
    When I first heard of the NY Times piece which blatantly disrespected Shonda Rhimes, Creator of Scandal and a few other popular television shows as well as Viola Davis, I was mortified. It was like here we go again with the whole #AngryBlackWomen stereotype of which I am so over. I tweeted about it and joined in a few discussions, but didn’t get an opportunity to post about it on BlackWomenSt

  2. Sorry about the abrupt ending, I hit the wrong button and it posted before I could finish:( I did however go back and update so check out the rest of my words on BlackWomenStandUp.com where I was able to finish and update. Thank you.

  3. Very attractive woman with a gorgeous complexion! :)

  4. Bleu says:

    I read this article a few days ago, I was highly upset from line one and infuriated when I reached the Viola Davis part. Viola Davis, from childhood and through out her career has dealt with these kind of remarks on her looks and tone. She is beautiful and talented and thanks for posting this.

    • Awake BW says:

      Exactly. That’s the thing too, that person had absolutely no care whatsoever that she was adding to the bulk of the discrimination, disrespect and commentary that Viola Davis has had to put up with from Hollywhite and society at large.
      Disrespecting a highly acclaimed actor like that in front of God, Buddha and Everybody.

      I tell you, it gets EXHAUSTING having to keep up the good fight.

  5. More posts from you please :)

Go Ahead, Have Your Say!

