Would You Go?

Kickin It On Mars

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking lately. What with the big goings on in my country (USA) and out there in the world. I do my thinking via scifi watching and reading especially when I’m in this kind of mood.

We sometimes jokingly say “I want off this planet!” and I’ve said that often here on this blog and the others I’ve had over the years, and I’ve noticed that in more recent times I’m only half joking.

And now after coming off of a Star Trek Voyager kick (on season 5) for the umpteenth time and also just sinking my teach into Poul Anderson’s Starfarers, my brain starts tossing around the very real idea of forsaking this planet for other worlds.

I have always mentioned the Mars One Project often as well, and their mission statement says this:

It is Mars One’s goal to establish a human settlement on Mars.

Human settlement of Mars is the next giant leap for humankind. Exploring the solar system as a united humanity will bring us all closer together.
Mars is the stepping stone of the human race on its voyage into the universe. Human settlement on Mars will aid our understanding of the origins of the solar system, the origins of life and our place in the universe. As with the Apollo Moon landings, a human mission to Mars will inspire generations to believe that all things are possible, anything can be achieved.

I have only skimmed that site, but I have perused the video applications and they are very interesting. They are from all types of people from diverse walks of life, from nearly every continent and country on this planet.

I see I am not alone in considering leaving Mother Earth behind – one-way trip or not. There are various reasons given, but I listen mostly to the tone of voice and sometimes I try to look deep into the eyes of the person speaking…

You might think there was a lot of people just giving up on this planet and seeking to do better on another one. Some, yes. Most are taking the good things that they have learned, and become from life here and have a yearning to take that goodness to the stars.

~*~

I wax poetic, but really think about it. In other Poul Anderson books the distances between and stars, solar systems, viable planets are taken care of by conveniently having a starship crew that is immortal. Or with working stasis technology. Or a combination of both.

I myself am contemplating a journey of sorts too. Not one that is exactly interstellar, but one that will take me away from the familiar to places with differing cultures from what I am used too, and will have me exercising my adaptability skills to their maximum.

At times I may want off the planet. More close to home, I want out of this country. The country of my birth. The country that I love more than I am able to articulate.

This move is not going to be easy. It has been a long time coming, and I have been preparing for it, for years, with perhaps many more months still yet to go until lift off.

I’m terrified.

But I know that I cannot stay here. I know that if I simply move to another state, it will not be enough, and the bald reality is that which I seek relief from is endemic in this nation and it is sickening me unto my death and I wish to live.

~*~

I am not looking to escape racism, sexism and oppression. I will find that in any country I happen to land in. What I am seeking to get out from under is the particular brand of racism, sexism and oppression that is uniquely American in its nature, scope and DNA.

I may return after some years. I may not. All I know is that I need to heal and I cannot do it here. Goodness knows I’ve tried for nearly a decade now, and I see that – at least for me – the only solution is to expatriate myself.

I won’t be the first Black American to do so, and I certainly won’t be the last. And for pretty much the exact same reasons too, I might add. I have traveled before. I have lived in other countries besides my own. I have that at least. It will help with the transitions and the culture shock that I know are ahead for me on my journey.

~*~

My initial country of choice after much thinking and praying and research had originally been France, in or around the city of Rouen. I have found an internet friend, a Black woman expat who has been living in Scotland, and via conversations with her, I’ve decided to stop there first.

I don’t know if it will be just a visit, or a lengthy visit, or if I might decide to stay there instead. The wet weather and greenery might be just what my soul needs for a minnit after all this heat and dryness out here in the desert.

But I have a place to start, a goal to get to, and prospects for further travel and exploration. Who knows? Maybe my karma is to be a nomad, forever traveling, pacing this globe and coming to understand it better.

There was a scifi story I read years ago – I forget the author, sorry – but it was about a young guy who happened to get a job in a diner that was a sort of pit stop between worlds and universes. He wanted to hitch a ride with any world-hopper who would take him, even knowing that there was no way to ever return.

He got advice to take a hop around his current planet – Earth – first and get to see the amazing sights it had to behold. He had never even been outside his small dusty town. There was wisdom in the moral of that story.

So I go to get respite from what is slowly killing me, but I also go with the hope that I’ll learn something new, see something amazing, experience something different about this planet before I decide to settle somewhere on it or sign up for that Mars colony.

Would you go?

Would you travel this planet?

Would you leave the country you love to save your life?

Would you sign up to leave this Earth and go Elsewhere on a one-way trip?

Would you go?

_______________________________________________

I am looking to make as many international connections as I can. Others living in Scotland – Perth or nearby – and/or anyone living in Rouen or nearby. Especially (American) Black women, but all are welcome to connect with me and make friends.
I like to travel knowing that there are some people who can meet with on the other end. I also like to have real time information about what I’ll need, what to expect etc.
I am also looking for ways to not take a such a financial hit. I know the Dollar is dismal to the Euro, but I’m sure there are ways to minimize the impact on my moneh.
Can PM me via twitter, leave comment here, email me: iwanttobelieve at daydreamer dot com. But alert me you’ve sent a note there, bc I rarely check it ;p

About Awake BW

Like my writing? Support & Donations accepted: paypal.me/AwakeBW Black Celibate Buddhist Nun Insomniac Wordsmith Womanist Our Lady Of The Two Black Cats Educated Bodhisattva This Week in Blackness Podcast FOREVER! #TWiBNation
This entry was posted in General, Hellz YES and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Would You Go?

  1. This is beautifully written, and I’ve felt as you for many years, in terms of other countries, though I have grown children to consider, which keeps me in my country of birth.

    However, the whole notion of colonizing dead planets borders on vile in my view. I was fascinated to find out that an ancient African culture, a sub-Saharan one, understood that planets live and planets die. This was before the time of Christianity. They also had a different understanding of nature – somehow seeing so much of what we can’t understand in nature – seeing this as a friend of sorts.

    Dead planets are dead for a reason, and the notion that a handful of people can even come close to doing what nature does here is merely transporting what is already a deplorable separation of man from nature.

    If the universe is infinite – and it is – then every way you look in the sky, if you could go far enough you would find life. Everywhere . . . and natural life. People with big hearts are tired of what they see, and it seems you are among them. I hope you find some peace and inspiration and joy somewhere, so good luck in France . . . anywhere but Mars . . . the best thing there will eventually be countless reruns of Gilligan’s Island.

    So as not to sound overly bitter, and I’m not, let me leave with something sweeter:

    http://bit.ly/16ZrxTl

    You see? As tough as things are here, there’s still plenty to laugh about!

    • Awake BW says:

      Hee! Thanks Lawrence :)
      But in all seriousness, I’m not really considering Mars. Now if there was a generation ship setting off for a living planet… that’s a whole OTHER story! LOL

      I do look forward to exploring Perth and other areas of Scotland, and re-acquainting myself with France by taking a stroll along the avenues of “Black Paris” before taking a peek at at Rouen.

      I mostly want to breathe different air and meet different people. I actually grew up traveling, and had been around the world couple two three times before I was 10 years old. The past decade is the most time I’ve spent in one place since college.

      Some travel to find themselves. I’m turning 45 soon. I already know who I am. I travel to find where I am supposed to be. I hope I find My Place In This World. Thank you for your thoughtful words and encouragement!

      • My pleasure. For what it’s worth, some of the happiest people I know have kind of nomadic. I’m guessing you are one of them. Also, I think the Mars people are looking for settlers, not gypsies, so thankfully they probably wouldn’t take you anyway! ha ha

        • Awake BW says:

          You got me cracking up!! Thinking about:

          Mars-One Colonists: Umm ma’am? Nooo you can’t go “check out the rings of Saturn”.

          Me: OH. Ok how about after we set up our domiciles we go see what’s throwing down back at the moon?

          Mars-One Colonists: *facepalm* Did she not read the mission statement?

          ROFL!

  2. bernasvibe says:

    As the other commenter stated I’ve also got grown children & very much living parents(& a host of other relatives from coast to coast & a huge circle of extended family of friends & yep might as well count my 2 X’s who are a couple of my very best friends on this planet) to consider..Just reached fabulous 50 and I’m not even a grandmother yet..And future grandchildren are something I’m so, so looking forward to.. Couldn’t imagine being countries away from them. I do agree that the country of my birth, which I adore so very much(I’ve also traveled abroad) is losing some of her freedom & liberties..But I also don’t know that it will be any better any where else..Someone great once said(my own Daddy) that it really doesn’t matter where one is to be happy..Happiness is & home is where the heart IS..One can travel forever & truly not find their niche..Nevertheless, and having said a mouthful, I do hope(& it sounds like) its for the best that you seek a spot, your spot, safe haven where you’ll be happier..Just as many seek our country for such happiness /opportunity; the reverse is certainly the same. All that said I sure hope you’ll continue with your blog spot here or somewhere else..I’d love to stay updated on while you journey..As always wishing you much good luck & blessings..I always learn something new when I’m here & looking forward to many more years of the same. Stay UPlifted

    • Awake BW says:

      YAY Berna! Thank you :)
      I really can’t wait for this blog to become the ABW Travel Blog, hee! I will be documenting every step of the way. I’ve drawn so much encouragement, information and inspiration from other BW Travelin The World blogs – I would love to add mine to the mix.

  3. celticlass says:

    I live in England but would love to move to Scotland! Let me know if you do stop off there, and wouldn’t mind meeting another celt :-) Whilst we have racism, sexism, disablism and various other prejudices here in the UK, like you say I don’t think it’s as extreme as in the US, and it’s definitely less taboo to talk about such issues. Activism is also on the increase again and feminism is no longer a dirty word here thank goodness – in fact many young women take pride in describing themselves as a feminist. This is not something which would have happened even say two years ago.

    • Awake BW says:

      I think I might take a peek over there too. If only to MEET you and see England through your eyes. I have been following your journeys on your blog, but what COOLNESS to go on a ramble WITH you??? Yeah uh HUH :D If you think I won’t invite myself over for tea, you better think again LOL

      The most important thing that I am trying to leave behind is how PERSONAL everything is here. This is where I was born. This is the country my people helped build. I have a deep and abiding love for this nation and what it could be.

      When I get treated like I’m a second class citizen if I’m treated like a citizen at all, it hurts something fierce. I can take being treated like a foreigner, or one them Yank expats, or thrown in with the African immigrants. I can handle that. I’ve experienced that sort of discrimination before when I traveled and lived overseas.

      It is like a mosquito bite compared to the lion chomp that gets inflicted on me on a daily basis here, all the time, every day, all day long. I got bug spray. I got cortisone cream. I don’t have a life-saving surgical animal bite medical team. Dig?

      I need to rest and heal. That is the bedrock of my impetus to Get Outta Dodge. It is like that saying we have over here: “If you can make it here (New York), you can make it anywhere”. I’ve survived this dang long in the US, I can survive anywhere. And just maybe I won’t simply be surviving, but get to actually LIVE for a change.

Go Ahead, Have Your Say!